Filter by rating
filters
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:
Show

3870Fb Review

1.0
Details
Nothing but lies! Horrible service on a brand new unit! DONT BUY FROM THEM! YOU WILL BE VERY SORRY. They are many other reputable dealers out there. Everyone that we have talked to that purchased a unit from them said they were sorry they had purchased from them.
View full review
Review
#1018294 Review #1018294 is a subjective opinion of poster.

Camping World in Oakwood, Georgia - Bait & Switch, No response from Corporate

1.0
Details
On Saturday January 21st, my wife and I attended the Camping & RV Show at the Galleria in Marietta Georgia. We browsed over 100 different campers and companies. We ended up coming to the same conclusion we did about a year ago, the Jayco bunkhouse was best for our family. We begin the purchase discussions with Gary, the sales rep with Camping World. We told him we wanted a different trim color, we negotiated the sales price, approved a lender through Camping World's partnership and told him we wanted to think about it overnight to make sure we were making the best decision. On Sunday January 22nd the sales manager from the show called me and asked me what it would take to make a deal today. We discussed it and agreed upon it. I drove the hour long drive back to the show and began to sign papers. Upon signing, I saw the VIN number was the same one as the demo at the show. I asked about it and they said they made a mistake and he went to correct it. When he came back he said they did not have the trim we wanted so this is was the next best thing. My wife was not happy as this seemed to be a bait and switch tactic. We discussed it with the sales rep and he apologized but that he couldn't do anything to get the camper we were promised with the features we were promised. We eventually ended up agreeing to the demo camper that had all the features except the trim we wanted. He promised the stains in the floor would be taken care of, the trim on the front storage compartment would be fixed, and we could pick it up from Woodstock. On Monday January 23rd I received the call from the delivery team and they told me I would have to drive 2 hours to Oakwood Georgia to pick up my unit. I was furious but had no other choice. They told me they would have it cleaned and ready to go but that I needed to plan on an hour and a half so that they could go over the unit with me. When I arrived, the delivery specialist was not available so they put me with a tech named Tom. Tom was the best thing of this whole experience. He was nice friendly and very knowledgeable. He did everything he could do to make the process smooth and I learned as much as I could from him. The unit was not washed, the stains and trim had not been taken care of, the remote did not work fully because of a burned out fuse, the TV remote did not work, the outdoor kitchen door did not shut right and the lock was broken. While I waited for him to attach the anit-sway hitch to my truck we bought over $150 of accessories. When the truck was brought around by another driver, the sway bar hitch broke and dented the front tow frame of the camper. We had to have pieces of the hitch replaced. We were at Camping World for 7 hours and we still do not have a camper in a condition that we were promised. Now we have to go back when the parts get in, all the way back to Oakwood and have the carpet cleaned or replaced and the outdoor kitchen replaced which will be several weeks to months from what I am told. Since the first week, I have taken my trailer to a different camping world only 40 minutes away. That was on February 11th. At that point I was told that it was going to be several weeks or up to a month before they would even look at the trailer. We have now had to cancel 2 camping trips (one with several other people and one with our family). I got an update from the service manager last week and he said he was still waiting on warranty items to come in so they still don't have plans to start working on the trailer. So I was sold a unit with a certain trim then told it wasn't available and then settled for a different unit based on an understanding that it would be in perfect condition. The promise that the unit would be perfect at delivery yet nothing was done to make it close to perfect. Then had to drive 2 hours (almost into another state) away from my home instead of picking it up from the dealership closer to my house like I was told. I have purchased a camper that is not at new quality, not the unit we wanted and hasn't even been in my driveway yet. I have sent emails to people at dealership and at corporate with no resolution. The sales Manager at Oakwood dealership told me I "Got an awesome deal and maybe it was too good because they couldn't follow through with it"???? Really?
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#1300683

Being down the street from a Camping World, I hear stories like this on an almost daily basis. When will people learn and stop going to them?

Review
#1018263 Review #1018263 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Service tech was the only positive at this point
Cons
  • No effort made to correct the issue quickly
  • Sales guy gary was not forthright
  • Tried many times to reach corp with no reponse
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Loss
$29500
Preferred solution
Full refund

All Camping World wants is your money!

1.0
Details
Your 'report' on Camping World's customer service was oh so familiar. They had our brand new Thor Vegas for over 6 months with a new promise date every week. They actually had physical possession of our new RV longer than we did by the time we got fed up and took it back. This was for warranty work! They also damaged it while holding it on their lot. The two hours worth of work they did do was shoddy, shabby work. I wrote letters to the area VP (Joel Cline) and the owner (Marcus Lemonis) and got no response. Camping World cares ONLY about the sale of the RV and nothing else after that.
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#1312875

Well.......here we are 2 months later and still trying to get our warranty work completed. We can't take the RV to any other service place because Camping World has applied to Thor for the warranty work and gotten approval from them so when we tried to go to another shop Thor wouldn't cover the cost a second time. This is outrageous when is Thor going to step up and 'Deal' with their Dealerships????

Anonymous
#1300684

Write all the letters you want but it will NOT matter to any of them at all. To camping world any problems are always the customers fault.

Even when they are in the wrong they will not do the right thing. PURE EVIL, LIES & DECEPTION.

View more comments (1)
Review
#1018260 Review #1018260 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Service department or the work done at this location
  • Lie and do shoddy work
Reason of review
Poor customer service
2.4
Details
Avoid Camping World Chicago/Island Lake/Wauconda!
Avoid Camping World Chicago/Island Lake/Wauconda!
Avoid Camping World Chicago/Island Lake/Wauconda!
Avoid Camping World Chicago/Island Lake/Wauconda!
Avoid Camping World Chicago/Island Lake/Wauconda!
In May of 2015 I purchased a brand new 2016 Thor Chateau camper from Camping World "Chicago" which is actually in Wauconda, IL. I should have heeded all the red flags and walked away from the deal, but my family really wanted the camper. Below is a basic timeline of...
View full review
23 comments
Anonymous
#1738724

They don't honor their warranty.

View more comments
Review
#1017763 Review #1017763 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • First 2 hours when we cut the deal
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$5000
Preferred solution
Full refund
Tags
  • dishonest
  • Beware Of Service Qoutes

Short Review on March 06, 2017

1.9
Details
Problems with brand new RV. Can't get anyone on the phone. Leave# and no call back,etc. Very poor customer service after spending this much money. Gremlins in the electrical system. We are 2000 miles from home and ON OUR OWN!!!!!
View full review
Review
#1017515 Review #1017515 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Camping World - Coachmen Rv Rv Review

1.2
Details

Update by user Mar 27, 2017

We did not get out of Camping World in Tampa until actually after they closed the store. That put us 28 miles from home on the other side of Tampa driving through rush hour (last about 3 hours here) traffic.

And still they did not have the right parts and they left us with a left turn signal that did not work most of the time. It did work before. So we waited another couple of weeks for them to get parts in and made the first available appointment we could. That was today.

We were only there a couple of hours. They fixed the short in the signal light but still did not have the right back up lights. They found some on Ebay and are having them shipped directly to our home. We will have to install them....

so another $118 on the credit card with compiling interest so we can go on our scheduled vacation. I will not even begin to tell you how upset I am.

But the people there are friendly and kind. Always nice to get a smile when you get the shaft!

Original review posted by user Mar 06, 2017

Bought used RV about 17 months ago. We had to call company because it got a flat tire as soon as we got home and there was no stem to air. Before ever using it we attempted to start the generator to cool down Refrigerator. Generator didn't work. Took it back to CW. They said it was just low on oil and it didn't have a leak. Cost us over $100 to find out. Got to NY (from FL). Generator didn't work To it to CW in NY. The said genatir had leak and put a new seal on it (we had to pay for motel room). Another $300. It work a couple of days and stopped. Took it back in NY. Now it needed bearings and they couldn't get parts. Extended warranty people said they only pay for parts. But the company is out of business. After a few weeks warranty people agreed to pay $500 toward a new generator but we had to pay rest. In meanwhile we purchased an external generator. Windshield wipers fell off. Etc etc. anyway Now we were told almost 2 months ago the had to order wiper arms and tail light assembly. (We bought it in because we had another flat tire) got the 45 point inspection. They stripped a lug nut Lost a couple of the decorative nuts. We were told the roof needed sealed and a few other things that should have been taken care of when we bought it. Now we were called that wiper arms and tail light assembly was in and made a 10 appointment for today. We were told 2-3 hours. We have been here since 9 AM. It is now 3:38PM. The have the wrong tail lights so it will be another trip over here in Tampa traffic. We are both diabetic and I do not have any insulin with me. Nor is there any place we could walk to and get food. There is popcorb available here and a snack machine but if your a diabetic you know anything in there is a "no". I have already called corporate once. I am now to point of talking to local news and/ or a lawyer. I am so frustrated with then. Oh and hour and half ago they told us 29 mins.
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#1305255

Has anyone gotten satisfaction from camping world. If so how did you do it

Anonymous
#1401747
@Anonymous

The only satisfaction I have received was a statement made by the warranty department at Forest River "if I owned a trailer and needed service on it, and Camping World was at the end of my driveway and the next nearest repair shop was a thousand miles away, i would drive the thousand miles".

By the way, the magazine TRAILER LIFE thinks they hung the moon.

View more comments (1)
Review
#1017465 Review #1017465 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Bad quality

Very poor customer service-Saukville, Wi. Camping World

I agree with Jay L. Camping world was so grossly over priced and unwilling to negotiate. They try to dictate what you will be paying. I had quotes from other dealers and banks with interest rates and monthly payments, so I knew my numbers before going in. Camping world failed on all levels of customer service, they want you to pay for it. They wanted us to pay for a walk through of THEIR camper once we bought it, fee of $700, and to pay for THEIR shipping fee to have THEIR product shipped to THEIR lot, so they can sell you THEIR product (another $700). Oh, yea, they don't include a battery either, they make you pay for that, too! Any other additons will cost you, they made that crystal clear. ( They have a little binder to prove it to you). We have many friends that have travel trailers and they have all shared their experiences. Camping world cannot even compare to the competition that is out there. Example: Our friends financed/ payed $18,000 for their travel trailer, 12 year loan, their monthly payment is $140/month, no walk through fee, no shipping fee, and the battery was included. Camping world dictated to us that it is $10/$1000 dollars, our payment would be $180/month, plus all the other add expenses through them. We went straight to a smaller local dealer that same day and got a travel trailer the same size with more amenities and upgrades for less money. No walk through fees, no shipping fees, and they through in a battery, installations of slide out awnings, sway bar with installation, and weight distribution hitch with instillation (E2 system...top of the line) all for free (included in sticker price). We have been researching and shopping for the last few years. We are not new to camping or campers/rv's. Camping world rates at the bottom of our list. We rarely write reviews, but we felt that it is our duty to look out for our camping community family. Good luck! David and Christine
View full review
Review
#1017190 Review #1017190 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Preferred solution
To share my experience with as many fellow campers as possible.

Camping World - Rv Repair Review

Totally, utterly, disgusting. I have NEVER been so appalled at a U.S buisness in my life. Please do not give camping world a single penny. They are theives, yes literally. We have over 3500.00 invested in the kingston ny store for a truck camper that we drove over 7 hours for. Spoke to a 22 yr veteran saleman for two weeks prior to arrival and required specific needs for a one ton diesel long bed dually pulling cargo behind it. We are first time buyers and trusted this buisness with our lives. They quickly installed a tie down system to our truck when we arrived, and placed a 6 ft bed camper on our truck. Then angry that we didnt accept the 3 foot gap between our cab and camper. Charged us 1000.00 for the tie down system that they had drilled 20 holes in the truck bed and bumper for. Later to find that the system was not made for large trucks and campers. So its useless. Had the odasity to demand we overnight mail to them the coupon book given to us. I firmly believe that the lord was watching over us because if we had left that facility with a 3500+ pound camper tied down with "BREAD TIES" we may not have even made it back home. They do not care. At. All. So sad. And not a single refund to date. Total nightmare. Did i mention we still have a loan for a camper that is still on their lot??!!! #camperlesspissedconsumer#
View full review
Review
#1016091 Review #1016091 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Pricing issue

Camping World - Poor service

1.0
Details
Camping World - Poor service
I have e-mailed three times, left messages on the "Live Chat" asking for information on selling my 5th wheel, which was purchased at Camping World in Bartow, Florida only three years ago. I do want to sell it but didn't happen to mention that I had my eye on one of their C class RV's. Just wanted to see if I would get a response. I wasn't disappointed. Not a call or e-mail! That's the problem isn't it? Everyone wants to sell you a product but forget the customer, once they leave. I'll bet that after reading this complaint, I get all kinds of e-mails and apologies and "I'm sorry, we didn't get your request"
View full review
Review
#1015561 Review #1015561 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Mmm
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Camping World - Review in Dealers category

1.0
Details
Bought a camper from Tom Raper, horrible service now bought by Camping World... they sold us a camper that had sat on their lot for way to long.. after they sell they don't want to hear from u never resolve any issues . Got extended warranty didn't help or change things!! Once I would like them to stand up and do the correct thing! Lost my keys they mailed them to me 8 months later .. camper is ***!!
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#1297545

I totally agree with you. Have experienced almost the same thing.

Horrible service there.

I could go on and on, but not enough time or space. Anyone considering purchasing an RV there should read the reviews first.

Review
#1015426 Review #1015426 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Reason of review
Bad quality